Montgomery County Municipal Utility District No. 8

About the District

Board of Directors

John F. Tryon, President (Term: 2024-2028)
John L. Patton, Vice President (Term: 2024-2028)
Randolph C. Moravec, Treasurer & Compliance Officer (Term: 2022-2026)
Margie Barlow, Secretary (Term: 2022-2026)
Mike White, Director (Term: 2023-2026)

If you have any questions or need to get in contact with the board, please click here to use our website’s Contact Form.


Montgomery County Municipal Utility District No. 8 (the “District” or MUD 8) was created on September 12, 1972, in accordance with Article XVI, Section 59 of the Texas Constitution and Chapters 49 and 54 of the Texas Water Code. The District provides water and wastewater service to approximately 1,674 residential connections within Sections 1 through 7 and 19 of Walden on Lake Conroe, Hunter’s Landing, Lake Point Condominiums and Lake Walden Cove.

The District’s water system, which currently includes two (2) water wells in the Jasper Aquifer and one (1) water well in the Catahoula Aquifer, is interconnected with the water system of Montgomery County Municipal Utility District No. 9 (“MUD 9”) in order to ensure an uninterrupted and adequate supply of water to both MUD 8 and MUD 9 customers. Additionally, MUD 8 owns and operates a wastewater treatment plant (“WWTP”) that processes and treats wastewater for both MUD 8 and MUD 9. MUD 8 is required to maintain all its water and wastewater facilities in accordance with the standards established by the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ).  For nearly 40 years, the MUD 8 Board has diligently operated, maintained and expanded its water and wastewater systems to provide its customers with service.

District Map

Double Click on Map above to enlarge.