Montgomery County Municipal Utility District No. 9

About the District

Board of Directors

Raymond Geiselhart, President (Term: 2022-2026)
Robert Ginandt, Vice President/ Treasurer/Investment Officer (Term: 2022-2026)
Curt Harris, Secretary (Term: 2022-2026)
Billy Brannon, Assistant Secretary (Term: 2022-2024)
David W. Allen, Director (Term: 2022-2024)



Montgomery County Municipal Utility District No. 9 (the “District” or MUD# 9) was created on May 24, 1971 by an Order of the Texas Water Rights Commission, presently known as the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (the “Commission”). Pursuant to the provisions of Chapters 49 and 54 of the Texas Water Code, the District is empowered to purchase, operate, and maintain all facilities, plants, and improvements necessary to provide water, sanitary sewer service, storm sewer drainage, irrigation, solid waste collection and disposal, including recycling, parks, and recreation facilities for the residents of the District.

The District is a political subdivision of the State of Texas governed by an elected board. GASB has established the criteria for determining whether or not an entity is a primary government or a component unit of a primary government. The primary criteria are that is has a separately elected governing body, it is legally separate, and it is fiscally independent of other state and local governments. Under these criteria, the District is considered to be a primary government and is not a component unit of any other government. Additionally, no other entities meet the criteria for inclusion in the District’s financial statement as component units.

The MUD#9 provides water and wastewater service to approximately 1,970 residential connections within Sections 8, 8A, 9,10, 11, 12, 12A,14, 15, 16,17, 18 of Walden on Lake Conroe and Harbor Shores. The District’s water system, which currently includes one (1) water well in the Jasper Aquifer and one (1) water well in the Catahoula Aquifer, is interconnected with the water system of Montgomery County Municipal Utility District No. 8 (“MUD#8) in order to ensure an uninterrupted and adequate supply of water to both MUD#8 and MUD#9 customers. Additionally, MUD#8 owns and operates a wastewater treatment plant (“WWTP”) that processes and treats wastewater for both MUD#8 and MUD#9.

District Map

Double Click on Map above to enlarge